Amazing story!!

New York's PIX11 / WPIX-TV

[ooyala code=”g5dHludTo382HAeWE8hfNbZ2JzoRmPfl” player_id=”9ae34776f76145da969becdeb205e6a5″]

WASHINGTON HEIGHTS, Manhattan– A civil rights pioneer, now 109-years-old, according to family members, made a rare appearance in New York Sunday, sharing her amazing story of activism that almost cost her life.

Amelia Boynton Robinson, known as the matriarch of the voting rights movement, was beaten, tear gassed and left for dead during the so-called Bloody Sunday march on March 7, 1965. The march from Selma to Montgomery was cut short by the violent crackdown on demonstrators by law enforcement.

She told the congregation at United Palace House of Inspiration in Washington Heights how she was beaten unconscious by police on the Edmund Pettus Bridge.

“He took his nightstick, hit me below my shoulders, and I just looked at him wondering why he did it, and said to him ‘I haven’t done anything.’ And he said ‘I said run,’ and he hit me above the neck,” Boynton…

View original post 191 more words

